Afghanistan veteran with medals and child

Equality and diversity

Equality and diversity

SSAFA is committed to promoting equality and diversity throughout the organisation. We will continue to celebrate and value diversity within the wider SSAFA family, to promote equality of opportunity and to challenge and strive to eliminate unlawful discrimination.

Equality Legislation

The Equality Act came into force in October 2010 and has two clear aims:

  • It seeks to harmonise discrimination law.
  • It aims to strengthen the law to support progress on equality.

The Equality Act expanded the six existing diversity strands - race, religion/belief, age, gender, disability and sexual orientation - to nine protected characteristics including pregnancy and maternity, marriage and civil partnership and gender reassignment.

The Equality Act applies at work, covering employees, ex-employees, job applicants, contract workers and the self-employed.

Further information and guidance about the Equality Act can be found from the Government Equalities Office or the Equalities and Human Rights Commission.

The Public Sector Equality Duty

The equality duty was created by the Equality Act 2010 and replaces the race, disability and gender equality duties. The duty came into force in April 2011 and covers age, disability, gender, gender reassignment, pregnancy and maternity, race, religion and belief and sexual orientation. It applies in England, Scotland and Wales.

The duty applies to organisations like SSAFA that provide services to the public or a section of the public. It also applies to anyone who sells goods or provides facilities. The general equality duty is set out in section 149 of the Equality Act. SSAFA must have due regard to the need to:

  • Eliminate unlawful discrimination, harassment and victimisation.
  • Advance equality of opportunity between different groups.
  • Foster good relations between different groups.